Fantasy Worlds I’m Loving

currently playing on my iPod: Nature Boy (acoustic) by Aurora

You know the feeling when a story grips you by the hair and yanks you into a world you can’t stop thinking about? That’s how I feel about some fantasy books I’ve picked up lately.

Beautiful World

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard (her Windwitch just came out too!!)

This world is ALIVE, people. ALIVE. The layered history and character backgrounds give the setting such depth. The author doesn’t overwhelm you with exact details at the start, but you get enough to be curious and to “feel the real” in every scene.

Lips Touch Three Times by Laini Taylor

This collection of short stories came out a long while back but it’s worth a re-read before Laini Taylor’s next masterpiece, Strange the Dreamer, comes out later this month. Hatchling is probably my favorite in there. The atmosphere is unforgettable.

Across the Nightingale Floor by Lian Hearn 

Another oldie-but-goodie, this fantasy, inspired by events in Japanese history, holds moments that sucked me in whole. The combination of superstition and the personality of the place…I just love it. Take this snippet for instance:

“…we came to the city of Hagi, the castle town of the Otori. It was built on an island flanked by two rivers and the sea. From a spit of land to the town itself ran the longest stone bridge I had ever seen. It had four arches, through which the ebbing tide raced, and walls of perfectly fitted stone. I thought it must have been made by sorcery, and when the horses stepped onto it I couldn’t help closing my eyes. The roar of the river was like thunder in my ears, but beneath it I could hear something else—a kind of low keening that made me shiver.”

What books have drawn you in lately?Beautiful World

This entry was posted in Books, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

