Why I Plan to be a Hybrid Author

currently playing on my laptop: Lose Yourself by Eminem

As an active member of the SCBWI Midsouth crew (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators), I have long been deeply entrenched in the traditional side of publishing.

For those not in the business, this means having an agent (I have a fantastic one, Kathleen Rushall, at ABLA) and sending one’s manuscript to large and small publishing houses. Said houses may offer a contract on a book and it goes from there.

I still want to publish traditionally. I love and respect the process. They make some gorgeous books and the competition to get those contracts has greatly improved my craft.

So why am I about to indie publish a series of young adult fantasies?

cff47da2d8c4712757eab4d8f939fc37

My husband and I own and operate a small business, Elite Martial Arts. It has been a joy. A tough joy, but a joy nonetheless. I have a degree in marketing and the business side of things has always fascinated me—almost as much as writing! Because of this fascination, and the experience I’ve had with Elite, I’m going to indie publish five books beginning in April of 2017.

I will keep you all posted on my journey and I welcome tips and ideas along the way!

25-inspiring-game-of-thrones-quotes-2-game-of-thrones-quotes

This entry was posted in Fighting and Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

