InstaLove Exists

currently playing on my laptop: You Should Know Where I’m Coming From by Banks

You know the term Insta-Love or maybe instalove. It’s when two characters see one another and either immediately or pretty shortly thereafter fall completely in loooovvveee.

Fall-in-Love-at-First-Si

Many readers say this is a load of junk. Many times it is a load of junk. But I’m here to tell you it happened with my husband and me. I saw my future husband at a Halloween party and I knew I loved him. It’s as simple and as complicated as that. He wore a costume of a character I thought was fresh and unique. Just the look in his eye, for some unknown reason, told me he was going to be the love of my life. I didn’t know if he would reciprocate. Lucky for me, he did love me back, although I think it took him far longer to figure that out. 😉

I only say this so that if there are characters in your story that have an instant connection, dare I say LOVE, it isn’t as impossible as some would claim. It is surely a very rare thing. But it happened to me.

Happy writing and may there be more love than hate in your world!

 

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to InstaLove Exists

  1. Hi! So, something similar happened with my husband and me. He’d just moved to the area, and the first Sunday I saw him at church, I thought that he had the kindest eyes I’d ever seen. I don’t know that I’d call it “instalove,” but I knew he was someone I wanted to know better–and that I’d feel SAFE around him. And that was something I really needed. (Haha, he also took longer to notice me as well.)

    Maybe the deal with instalove in books (aside from it becoming kind of cliche) is that the reason for the quick connection isn’t always clear. You, for instance, had the connection with the character costume, something that spoke of your husband’s personality and hinted that you two would get along well. But in many books I’ve read with instalove, the connection often seems missing. Suddenly one character is crushing on another, or the two are madly in love, and I feel like I’ve missed a step. Other times, the two have every reason NOT to like each other, and then I really need to see how they overcame the hurdles, even if it’s something as simple as kind eyes or an awesome costume. 🙂

    • That’s awesome!! And yes, I agree with you on some stories missing the connection we readers need to see. Very true. I thought Star Touched Queen was guilty of that until I read further and realized it all made sense. (don’t want to spoil it for you if you haven’t read)

Leave a Reply

