Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Want to Meet

currently playing on my iPod: Radioactive by Imagine Dragons

The Broke and the Bookish have suggested we explore the top ten people we’d like to meet. I’m sticking with authors.

Before I get all fangirly on you, I must note that I’ve already met a few of my literary heroes such as Diana Gabaldon (Outlander), C.J. Redwine (Defiance), Deborah Harkness (A Discovery of Witches), and Rachel Hawkins (The Hex Hall series). They’d be on this list if it weren’t for the fact that I’d already shaken their talented hands and smiled my face off at them.

Also, there’s no way I can possibly make a true list. It’s a ridiculous thing to ask. I’d give up Nutella (way worse than losing cliched limbs) to meet another list of ten. I’m working from the books sitting around my desk.

And NOW, in no certain order, here are my TOP TEN! (insert Dave Letterman music)

1. Cassie Clare, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series The woman has imagination to spare. I want to watch her create. I bet there are sparks involved. Potentially real wands. Wait, I mean, steles.

2. Meg Cabot, authors of loads of good books including the Mediator series She cracks me up. I want to have a beer with her.

3. Sharon Kay Penman, historical fiction goddess She runs this history/book tour through France. I want to go to there. (a la Liz Lemon*) I’ve visited France and I’m in love with it. Parading about France avec Ms. Penman would be life changing.

4. Harry Turtledove, alternate historicals genius His Household Gods reminded me why I love historical fiction. Ruled Britannia impressed me beyond description. (I hate it when people say that, but I’m serious. I, me, if you just…can’t do it.) 

5. Kristin Cashore, author of Graceling and Bitterblue Her stories kick tail and hit me in the gut . I always cry, cheer, and pine for her characters. She is a rock star.

6. JK Rowling Well, duh.

7. Maggie Stiefvater, author of many things including The Scorpio Races and the upcoming Raven Boys series I bounce up and down when I hear her name, see her artwork, watch her Shiver series trailers, or glimpse her books on my shelves. Why has she not been to Parnassus in Nashville yet?

8. Anne Rice ‘Cause she’s an interesting cat. She’d say something that would haunt me for the rest of my life.

I hope heaven is real. If it proves so, I’ll be first in line to say hello to

9. C.S. Lewis 

10. Madeleine L’Engle

*Hey French majors, don’t get worked up about my missing symbols. My computer and I have a tentative truce in place, and I don’t want to push it.

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Want to Meet

Leave a Reply

