Top Ten Books that Make You Think

currently playing on my iPod: Angels by xx

1. Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis It’s an old school one, for sure, but it brings you into a world where everything makes sense. Creatures live in such peaceful balance, without overwhelming want or senseless pain. As Liz Lemon would say “I want to go to there.”

2. Graceling by Kristin Cashore (spoiler alert) As you go through Katsa’s struggle to love, to attach herself to someone, you see yourself in her. Your head-rearing independence and need for “nothing to lose” come face to face with the potential pain of a true relationship.

3. Outlander (series) by Diana Gabaldon This book helped me explore how I feel about being married. It is possible to stay sexy and stay faithful.

3. Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater Sean rocks. I want to be him. I want to earn the respect he owns in Thisby and be honest about my talents and shortcomings. I’m working on it.

4. Wild Ginger by Anchee Min This book wowed me. I would never want to live under Chairman Mao’s thumb.

5. The Red Tent by Anita Diamant Ms. Diamant explores the world of women in this authentic historical. Read it. You’ll thank me later.

6. Snow Flower and The Secret Fan by Lisa See This book reminded me of how much I NEED my friends.

7. That Hideous Strength by C.S. Lewis Several scenes in this novel explore the harsh beauty of feeling in our existence. It breaks through our preconceived ideas and pushes our thinking past anyone’s boxed philosophies.

8. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon Just read it. It’s hard to explain.

9. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger On top of being one of the funniest books I’ve ever read, it also spins a heart-breaking tale of a cynical youth who appreciates and longs to protect the innocence he sees around him.

10. I don’t have a ten. Ten seems too monumental to name. Find your own ten and love it hard.

Thanks for idea, The Broke and the Bookish blog!

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top Ten Books that Make You Think

  1. This is such a great list. I am gonna check out the ones I have not heard/read!

    Happy Reading!! Here is my Top Ten post!

  2. Pingback: Snow Flower & the Secret Fan | Twisted Branch Blog

  3. Pingback: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, Lisa See | lasesana

Leave a Reply

