Ooo, goodie, a delicious name

currently playing on my iPod: Plainsong by The Cure

Today I spent two hours researching my second novel, searching for another historical bad guy to tie into my plotline. I found what I was looking for in Amadeus IV, Count of Savoy. This fantastically named maniac defeated two of his brothers to claim his spot as big cheese in Savoy (Savoie-fr)–a lovely little area within the Holy Roman Empire. His dad was a true medieval man in that he snatched up a king’s (Philip II) fiance, married her, and produced more children than is really reasonable, just to solidify his healthy chunk of continental Europe. I love research, but I must beware. Someone recently reminded me that research is seductive and one must only do what is necessary. So true. I could spend an eternity in the library or on the web and then have not a thing (besides conversation that no one around me cares to take part in) to show for it. On with the show, Amadeus.

This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

