Did you ever wonder…

now playing on my iPod: Drumming Song by Florence and the Machine

Have you ever wondered what the world would be like if the French Revolution never caught on? How about if Queen Victoria had been a lesbian? And what if the Native Americans had managed to keep control of North America? These are the types of thoughts upon which I ponder daily. The winners in history shape not only governments but also unwritten cultural laws on love and food and parenting. They affect the types of buildings that future generations will visit and use. As I continue reading THE HERETIC’S WIFE by Brenda Rickman Vantrease I find myself marvelling that perhaps the reason I can walk into my kitchen and get a beer is because King Henry VIII wanted a young brunette. Yes, it takes more than a few steps to get there, but research the history of hops and Luther and you’ll eventually find the links. This is why I love to write historical fiction. This is why I love to twist history. To see what would happen if…

This entry was posted in twisting history and why I love it. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

