Character Thoughts

Authors have several options when writing a character’s thoughts. Some options are horribly distracting to me as a reader. A book I recently read, The Lost Symbol, used italics. I detested it. Every time the main character thought something, my reading would pause, jarring my concentration. I didn’t care for the book anyway, so perhaps I was biased, but nonetheless, it did disrupt my flow. In my novel, I have decided to keep the main character’s thoughts in the same font as the rest of the text. Now, my book is written in first person so it works. Maggie Stiefvater, author of the book I am currently reading called Shiver, writes her character’s thoughts in the same manner as I do. I am able to read seamlessly through each chapter, and I have never been confused by the technique in use. However, I am at times befuddled when she shifts from the first person point of view of one character to another. Although the character through who’s eyes you are looking is named at the beginning of each chapter, there are times when I still forget. That does interrupt my reading. In my humble opinion, it would have been better to pick one character, or at the very least, stick with one for a longer period in the story. When you write, keep the reader in mind. Oftentimes, authors get caught up in other bits of the craft and fail to remember that all important need. The reader must continue reading. Anything, be it italics, switch in pov, whatever, we as writers must keep the reader comfortably uncomfortable, turning those pages like life depends on it. 
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

