Updates on the Dragons Rising Series

now playing on my laptop: the Game of Thrones Season One soundtrack 😉

Hello all! (here is me in my Renaissance Faire garb being ridiculous)

IMG_4380

Fate of Dragons, Dragons Rising Book One, is kicking tail in the charts and I couldn’t be happier!

I have updates for you!

  1. The Fate of Dragons audiobook should be available on Audible mid May. Caitlin Davies narrated (she has also recorded several of Lindsay Buroker’s books~cue fangirling) and she knocked it out of the park, dudes. It’s awesooommmmeee.
  2. Book Two, Band of Breakers, will be up for pre-order on or near Friday, April 26th, so get ready for a sneak peek on that front. Eeee! Hint: Elves are happening.
  3. If you haven’t read my other epic fantasy series, Uncommon World, you might be interested to know that book one in that series, Waters of Salt and Sin, will be available in audiobook on Audible any day now! Heather Costa narrated that one and she is AHmazing. It’s a big ole book too so you’ll get your credit’s worth for sure on that one. 😉
  4. Can you help me name the gryphon who will show up in book two? Check out my fan group on Facebook to participate OR sign up for my newsletter so you don’t miss the voting form! Here is the Facebook Group Link and here is the link for the newsletter (where you can also nab a free library of ebooks by me!).

 

dragons

Advertisements
Posted in Books, My Writing | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Fate of Dragons Characters: Meet Vahly

now playing on my laptop: Brennistein by Sigur Rós

It’s time to meet our hero!!!

Raised by dragons, Vahly is the last surviving human. She bears a Blackwater mark between her eyebrows—a shimmering oval that represents the origin of creation and magic in this world. She should be very powerful, but she has no magic at all.

Life, amirite?

Vahly loves a good game of dice at the cider house. She is a bit like Han Solo in that she tends to be reckless and not take things too seriously.

Well, the dragons and the elves need her to wake her dormant powers to save them all.

It’s not going to be easy.

Check out this graphic my designer made for Vahly of the Earth.

Fate of Dragons, Dragons Rising Book One, releases April 3rd!!! Woo hoo!!!

They longed for a savior. Instead, they found me.-3

Posted in Books, My Writing | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Fate of Dragons Characters: Meet Nix

now playing on my laptop: stuff my kids are making me play :/

Bring out the dragonsssssssss

Oh yeah.

All my life I’ve wanted to write a dragon series and finally I DID IT.

Want meet one of my favorite dragons in my upcoming book, FATE OF DRAGONS, Dragons Rising Book One?

‘Course ya do.

Meet Nix.

Not surprising, she loves gold.

Nix refuses to join any dragon clan and instead runs her own network of spies and smugglers. All the dragons in my upcoming series have dragonfire. It is far more powerful than your basic fire. Greek fire inspired that bit of worldbuilding. 

She can shift from her full dragon form into a human-like form with scaled skin and smaller wings.

Nix is saucy and every dragon at the local cider house adores her.

Check out a graphic my designer created for Nix.

Copy of They longed for a savior. Instead, they found me.-3

Posted in Books, My Writing | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Fate of Dragons Characters: Meet Arcturus

now playing on my laptop: My Blood by Twenty-one Pilots

Do you like elves in your fantasy novels and movies?

I do. Tolkien’s Legolas. Christopher Paolini’s elves. There are many from which to choose.

Screen Shot 2019-03-08 at 9.48.43 AM

In my upcoming FATE OF DRAGONS, DRAGONS RISING BOOK ONE, Arcturus is the main elf of note.

Fascinated by magical sciences, Arcturus is a tall, battle-scarred, dark-haired elf with a big problem.

His memories have been altered… 

Most of my elves have names inspired by stars and planets. They possess a version of air magic in which they wield light, shadow, and wind in interesting ways.

Arcturus has royal elven blood, but instead of longing for a crown, he spends his non-warrior time in his alchemy lab. He is specifically interested in how the magic from all the creatures might combine.

And just today, the wind told him a secret that will change everything.

Here is a graphic my designer created for Fate of Dragons (out April 3, 2019).

 

Copy of Copy of They longed for a savior. Instead, they found me.-2

Posted in Books, My Writing | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

A FATE OF DRAGONS Map!

now playing on my laptop: Dumbledore’s Office from Ambient Worlds on YouTube

Hello Fantasy Family!

Check it out—we have a FATE OF DRAGONS map!

Wooooo hooo! What do you think?

My epic fantasy series will release at the beginning of April. I can’t wait to share this world and these characters with you.

The dragons live in the Lapis and Jade caves while the elves hang out in the Forest of Illumahrah. The last human in this world, Vahly, lives with the Lapis dragons and can be found gambling at the ciderhouse on Dragon’s Back ridge.

The artist’s name is Ren and I found her on Fiverr years ago. She also did the map for the Uncommon World. 🙂

colorSugarrabota copy.jpg

Posted in My Writing | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

currently playing on my laptop: Geyer by Mitski

Hey there! I recently released FOREST OF SILVER AND SECRETS inside the Uncommon World bundle and I thought I’d share a non-spoiler snippet today. 🙂

FoSaS-Final300 gold

So far, the reviews have been fantastic. I’m simply thrilled. This novel features trees that come to life, a new and tempting romance, and plenty of humor and thrills. Early readers have said it would be great for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Leigh Bardugo, JRR Tolkien, and many more fantasy authors that I respect with my whole heart. I hope you enjoy it.

Here is Kinneret, your favorite fierce sailor and salt witch, back again and ready for action!

The pewter clouds swung low and balled like fists as Kinneret turned the stubborn wheel, the wood smooth under her calloused hands. She wished to let the ship go where it may, let the storm have them for a bit to keep damage down, but there was no time for that. They had to be at the main Silvanian port before the most powerful merchants went off for their seasonal hunts along the northern coasts and the Northern Isle folk sailed back into their foreboding region. The Silvanian king would leave for his country estate very soon.

Wind whipped Kinneret’s hair around her face. Salty water dripped into her mouth. “Sails down. Tie them up. The wind will take them and we’ll be headed under.”

Calev and five fighting sailors battled the jib sail’s tie. Its end cracked across the deck like a great whip, then circled back. Against the ship’s side, it snapped and tripped two sailors who landed hard on the planks. That jib sail needed to come down. Now.

The reedy man in the sky cup climbed down the main mast and hurried to help another sailor knot the lines securing the foresail. Thunder echoed across the unending horizon. A school of fish rippled beneath the waters’ surface.

From the stern, Oron gave Kinneret a nod. It was time for Salt Magic. Though the magic never worked as well outside the Pass’s cursed waters, it was worth a try.

“Take the wheel, Ridhima.”

The woman slid into place, long-fingered hands curling over the indents where Kinneret’s had just been.

“Watch it, kaptan!” Calev shouted.

The jib sail’s line zipped over Kinneret’s head. She ducked. Calev leapt and snagged the tie right out of the air.

Water chilled Kinneret’s feet through the spaces in her sandals. The soft, leather bag of salt on her sash was full and ready. She drew out a handful and threw it above her head. The storm snarled like an angry desert lion and swallowed her offering whole.

Wind and rain,

Strength and pain,

Sea, I hear you,

Sea, I see you.

Sail and dodge,

Push and pull,

Sea, hear me,

Sea, hear me.”

The wind sounded different here, storm or no storm. They’d left the Pass now and this stretch of water felt like a stranger, one with a familiar face, but a foreign voice.

A wave reached high and crashed against the jib sail. The ship moaned.

Oron shouted through the open door that led below deck. “All hands! On deck now!”

Sailors streamed onto the deck, some half-dressed with just one boot or missing a shirt.

Oron grabbed the two closest. “Forget tying. Just cut the jib loose. Now!”

They rushed across the deck toward the sail at the bow, pulling knives from their sashes. Everyone else clutched onto posts or the masts. Two sailors lashed down the sealed barrels of Old Farm’s finest wheat heads—they’d kept that part of the load above deck to watch for mice. Calev and Oron tied themselves and several others to the main mast.

Raindrops thickened into a deluge. Water drummed onto the decking and soaked Kinneret through. The Salt Magic had to work. She was not about to die from a storm at sea after all she’d been through. No. Even if they were out of the main waters of the Pass and far from where her magic thrived.

Lightning flared from above. A crack sounded, and all heads turned toward the sky cup. A jagged line marred the foresail mast, but the support held. If that mast broke, it would come down on the sailors like a giant hammer and most likely punch a mean hole in the ship. Kinneret gripped a post and clung on, her heart hammering. Shouts and prayers rose from most mouths, from Calev, Oron, and the others tied to the neighboring mast. The sea growled and raised a gray-brown hand to strike again.

Grab the new set, including this brand new novel, right HERE.

Posted in Books | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Believable Writing: The Texture of a Place

now playing on my MacBook: All Night by Big Boi (thanks to my thirteen-year-old)

Hello writers and readers!

Do you ever find yourself reading an especially awesome book and realize you FEEL like you are ACTUALLY there?

tibersunset768by576

Usually, that’s due to scene details.

The author perks up all of your senses with the smell of the sweating horses, the cold water splashed on the neck, or the taste of a salty, pistachio cookie. They bring you the TEXTURE of a place.

Here is an example.

What did Rome feel like to me the first time I visited?

Air heavy with history. Spicy. Well-worn stone and bird wings fluttering. A cacophony of laughter and shouts. Engines roaring and a cool wind through aromatic cedars. Red wine dancing over the tongue.

That, to me, is Rome.

When you read, hopefully the author knows the setting. Maybe they have been there or, if it is purely in the imagination, they have lived in that place in their mind for so long, it feels truly real to them. They will bring the texture of the world to you through the senses. Specific and strong. 

Have you read a book that gave you the texture of a setting?

Posted in Books, My Writing, travel, writing | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment