Eerie Halloween Reading

currently playing on my iPod: Madness by Muse

In honor of my favorite holiday, here is a list of super creepy stuff to read around Halloween.

1. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness  This book includes some Salem lore, lots of magic, and a great little Halloween scene toward the end. LOVE this book.

2. The Poe-et’s Nightmare by H.P. Lovecraft  This little uber eerie piece, along with the one listed below, inspired the creepiest scene in my latest manuscript.

3. The Tomb by H.P. Lovecraft  I first heard this on Stuff You Should Know podcast. Josh and Chuck read it aloud and I fell in love with the stomach churning short.

4. A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare  Okay, so this one doesn’t usually go hand in hand with Halloween, but I love it. For some reason it can really creep me out.

5. The Ghost-Eye Tree by Bill Martin, Jr. and John Archambault  This is a kid book,  but I’m kind of obsessed with trees so it works for me. Look it up. You’ll like it.

6. Christabel by Samuel Taylor Coleridge  With foul and folkloric omens, this poem will give you shivers. Plus, the words are just so PURTY.

7. Inferno by Dante Alighieri  A classic. It had me at “What was this forest savage, rough, and stern, Which in the very thought renews the fear.”

What are your favorite spooky reads? I’d love to hear about them.

I’ll be back soon with my own creepy short story.

 

This entry was posted in Books, Fun Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eerie Halloween Reading

  1. Pingback: Halloween, A Time to Be Anything You Want…. « jazfagan

Leave a Reply

